Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mapping Gothic France
With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries
Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in Spain
This collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century.
Chartres - Cathedral of Notre-Dame
This website provides access to a comprehensive collection of images and detailed descriptions of Chartres Cathedral.
Gothic Past is an open-access resource for the study of medieval Irish architecture and sculpture. I
Panoramic views of modern day Paris
Asian and Middle Eastern Architecture
Asian Historical Architecture
Welcome to www.orientalarchitecture.com, a photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Here you can view over 17,500 photos of 851 sites in twenty-one countries, with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors.
Travelers in the Middle East Archive
TIMEA provides online access to texts, maps, and images documenting travel to the Middle East (primarily Egypt) between the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Sidney D. Gamble Photographs
Approximately 5000 photographs, primarily of China, 1917-1932.
American Institute of Indian Studies
The images fall into the broad categories of architecture, sculpture, terracotta, painting and numismatics.
ArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations.
Africa through a lens: The National Archives
Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069). The full collection can be seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and tags.
Africa Focus (University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries)
The website offers downloadable images, sound files, and other materials on Africa drawn from contributions by UWM faculty over the last 20-30 years.
Start You Image Search Here
Google Art Project
High-resolution images of selected works from museums around the world, including Gemaldegalerie, Berlin; National Gallery, London; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Versailles; Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam; Uffizi, Florence; Museum Kampa, Prague; and more... Gallery and street views, Explore the Museum feature, videos
NYPL Digital Collections
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
General Art and Architecture Images
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Has a range of image collections from research universities, including international and american architectural image collections
The photograph-sharing website has a growing number of architectural and related images, including selected images from the Library of Congress, the National Archives, the George Eastman House, etc.
Shared Shelf Commons
Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images, with many architecture slides that are not in the general ARTstor collection.
Europeana is a multi-lingual image database that lets you search across digital from many european cultural institutions, museums and galleries.
Built on the art of ancient Greece and Rome, CLAROS is an international research collaboration, using the latest Information and Communication Technologies to enable simultaneous searching of major collections in university research institutes and museums.
George Eastman House
A steadily growing of GEH's vast photographic holdings. Also check Flickr as they have been expanding to this venue.
UNESCO World Heritage Sites
Has maps, images, and information about 981 world heritage sites.
Cities Around the World
Cities Around the World presents over 6,100 photographic images from the slide collections of the American Geographical Society Library.
University of Michigan, Art, Architecture and Engineering Lantern Slides
The Art, Architecture and Engineering Library Lantern Slide Collection is a collection of approximately 17,000 lantern slides of architectural and geographic topics.
RIBApix is a database of images from the collections of the Royal Institute of British Architects covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts.
North American Architecture
South American Architecture
BDPI is a project of the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries. Highlighted digital collections in geography and travel, periodicals, music, and tales and legends.
The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs
Hundreds of photographs and prints, in albums and rare published volumes, present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean.