Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Annotations vs. Abstracts
"Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. Annotations are descriptive and critical; they expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority." - Reference Department, Olin and Uris Libraries, Cornell University.
Links for writing abstracts and for annotated bibliography creation:
Types of Articles
This grid describes the types of periodical articles--scholarly, popular, and trade--that you will find in the online databases.
Here are some questions to ask yourself about articles you locate while doing research.
Remember to think critically about the material you locate while conducting research. What type of article is it? Is it an appropriate source for your paper? These guides will help you to evaluate the articles you find and write the assessment portion of an annotation.
What is an annotated bibliography
"An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited." - Reference Department, Olin and Uris Libraries, Cornell University.