Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Biography in Context
Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually. Content includes reference material, magazines, audio and video content, images, and links to screened, reliable websites. Can browse or search by name, occupation, nationality, etc. or by multiple criteria in Advanced Search.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Includes reports through 2018 when the CRS started releasing reports directly to the public.
Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published 44 times a year by CQ Press.
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of more than 58,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Offers a variety of browse and search options as well as themes (reference groups, reference lists, and feature essays on topical anniversaries.
Britannica Academic Edition combines the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.