Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art History Resources on the Web
A comprehensive collection of sites covering world art from prehistoric times to the present; includes links to online image archives.
Art Links on the World Wide Web
Another art mega-site with copious links to art sites the world over; also has links to curriculum guides and sites concerned with art education.
A list of online art resources compiled by an art librarian.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool.
Voice of the Shuttle: Art and Art History Page
A mega-site with links to art resources from around the Web, including online journals, academic departments, and sites specific to artists.
An online encyclopedia of art: provides biographies of artists, descriptions of artistic movements, and images of works of art.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
A very comprehensive list of primary historical sources from the Middle Ages to the present.
Historical Text Archive
E-texts, images, diaries, and other historical artifacts from around the world; arranged by place and topic.
Historic Government Publications from World War II
This site from Central University Libraries provides researchers with access to primary source materials from the Second World War.
The History Guide is an Internet-based subject gateway to scholarly relevant information in history with a focus on Anglo-American history and the history of Central and Western Europe.
Internet Global History Sourcebook
The Global History Sourcebook is dedicated to the interaction between world cultures.
Perseus Digital Library
A digital library providing access to a variety of primary and secondary humanities resources, from ancient Greece to Renaissance England to the American West.
WESSWEB: Western European Studies Section
"WESS is professionally involved in the acquisition, organization, and use of information sources originating in or related to Western European countries. [Its] aim is to promote the improvement of library services supporting study and research in Western European affairs from ancient times to the present."
Remember to evaluate any website you use in your paper very
carefully. Use the following criteria to determine if a website is
appropriate to use in your research:
- Purpose and Audience
- Source and Authority
- Legibility, Style and Functionality
The Bodleian First Folio
A digital facsimile of the First Folio of Shakespeare's plays, Bodleian Arch. G c.7.
Folger Shakespeare Library
Located on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC, the Folger is a world-renowned research center on Shakespeare and on the early modern age in the West. Its conservation lab is a leading innovator in the preservation of rare materials. Its well-known public programs include plays, concerts, literary readings, family activities, and exhibitions, as well as numerous K–12 and college programs for students and teachers. Advanced scholars participate in a variety of Folger Institute seminars and colloquia.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
"Our aim is to inspire a love of Shakespeare's works by delivering open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability."
A site which focuses on the study of Medieval, Renaissance, and 17th-century literature.
MIT Global Shakespeares
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
Treasures in Full: Shakespeare in Quarto (British Library)
"On this site you will find the British Library’s 93 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the theatres were closed in 1642."
Shakespeare in Performance
Showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally.