Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.
- specific factual information such as dates
- overviews or summaries of topics
- recommendations for additional sources
Types of reference sources
- specialized encyclopedias
- statistical compilations
For More Help
Research Center Phone: 603-862-1544
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian.
Selected Print Reference Sources
These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: Dimond Reference GN 307 .E52 1996
Covers approaches, methods, concepts, and topics important in cultural anthropology as well as selected information from linguistics, biological anthropology, and archaeology.
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends
Call Number: Dimond Reference GR 105.34 .B78 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Includes descriptions of hundreds of individual legends and their variations, legend themes, and scholarly approaches to the genre. All entries are cross referenced and feature brief bibliographies.
Online Reference Resources
Search for definitions and descriptions from an online collection of high quality reference sources in sociology.
Ethnographic Video Online
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior--more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion (still in progress).
The collection covers every region of the world, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.