Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEE 420, Professor Kinner, Fall 2020 (UNH Durham): Find Books & E-Books

Support for successful stream source searches. And other things.

Library Catalogs

 

The UNH Library's home page has an open search box for "Articles, Books, Media & More" -- this searches many databases, including most of the UNH Library Catalog.  Article titles, book titles, authors, keywords, subjects, can all be searched.  This *does not* search some important STEM databases like Compendex or SciFinder.  However, if you already have an article title or authors, you can try searching them this way.

The UNH Library Catalog covers all of the material owned and accessible through the UNH Library at Durham and the UNH-Manchester Library.  This is the best way to find ebooks, streaming films and music, online journals, and physical materials in our locations. 

UNH Library home page with Catalog link circled.

 

A catalog screenshot is a good way to save a screen you have a question about, to send email to me or show to library staff.  A better way for permanence is to mark records to export or email to yourself.  The "Permalink" in the record always goes back to that exact record. 

If you want to sign in, you can save records to your library account, see what you have checked out, save searches and alerts, and renew non-reserve items!   To sign in, just use your UNH id and password.
 

In the Library Catalog you can look up a journal title but articles are not individually listed. 

Example:

library home page search box

 

The Course Reserves menu lets you check on books that may be on reserve for any of your courses.  Instructors also provide some links directly in MyCourses.

Use the Databases list to find Engineering and/or Environmental Science research databases through the subject list (see the "Find Articles" tab on this Guide).

.You can switch to the Books & Media Worldwide or FirstSearch catalog to find out about materials beyond UNH and request books and media to be delivered from other college and university libraries via InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

E-Books

The library has thousands of individual e-books and some major e-book collections, including those below.  The UNH Library Classic Catalog includes every e-book accessible via UNH. 

Sample UNH Library Subject Searches

Click on the subjects below to search the UNH Library Catalog. After you search, you can narrow most any search. Click on the Limit/Sort Search Icon in the catalog:  and choose limits or add words. Choices include: library location, year of publication, words in title or author, material type, etc.

Call Numbers @ the UNH Library

UNH uses the Library of Congress (LC) system, like most academic libraries.  Here is a clickable outline of the categories and call numbers.  Call numbers are read line by line: 

TD
146
.W45

Note: In .W45  the 45 is a decimal number.  The letter W stands for the author (or title if no author). 

Example of the order:   

TD           TD           TD
146          146         146

.W427      .W45       .W5 


Breaking a subject down into subtopics:

  • TD1-1066 Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
    • TD169-171.8 Environmental protection
    • TD172-193.5 Environmental pollution
    • TD194-195 Environmental effects of industries and plants
    • TD201-500 Water supply for domestic and industrial purposes
      • TD419-428 Water pollution

Remember, all books should be in the catalog, so you can browse there also.  

 

Technical Data & Information Resources

Specialized reference resources for Environmental Engineering provide authoritative information on processes, properties, data, and instrumentation. At UNH, these may be in print or online.  Types of reference resources include:

  • dictionaries for technical definitions
  • specialized encyclopedias for processes & technical information
  • handbooks for technical information, explanations, and data
  • atlases and maps
  • manufacturers’ specifications (often at the manufacturer's website; sometimes only available upon request)
  • specifications and standards produced by independent organizations; these describe accepted criteria for properties, or methods for testing, materials, processes, and products

 Resources listed on this page are divided among online and print access.

Selected Reference Resources (Online via UNH Library)

Selected Reference Resources (in print)

Reserves

New Books