Research Guides: CEE 420, Professor Kinner, Fall 2020 (UNH Durham): Saving & Citing

Bibliographic Management Software

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open source bibliographic management tool that operates as an extension of the Firefox browser. Zotero allows the collection of citations to any kind of material and automatically formats bibliographies in almost any style. Zotero also has many search, tagging, and note taking features. Visit the UNH Library Zotero guide or the Zotero quick start guide to learn more.

EndNote

EndNote is another option, which you can buy at the UNH Computer Store (academic discount); EndNote Basic on the web is also offered when you use the Web of Science database, which the library subscribes to. This enables users to collect, organize, and format citations from Web of Science and other databases on the same platform, such as Biosis (Biological Abstracts) and Medline. To register, go into the Web of Science database and click on "EndNote" at the top of the screen. Endnote accounts can be accessed from any computer here or off-campus.

Citing your sources

When to cite: Cite your sources when you: quote, paraphrase, use their ideas, or use their images. Citing good sources makes you look good as an author. When in doubt, cite!

How to cite: Use the style guide recommended by your instructor. If there is no recommendation, the Library has many books on communication and writing for engineers and others in technical professions.

Save, export, or email citations from databases when you search for articles. You can use software to organize (see box to the left) and also to re-format your citations for papers you are writing.

For in-person writing help, and online guides to writing, citing, and avoiding plagiarism, UNH's Connors Writing Center, located in Dimond Library, is the place to go. Make an appointment to have your draft reviewed.

Here are selected guides:

A Guide to Writing as an Engineer
This well-known guide by David Beer & David McMurrey offers friendly help on everything from writing a letter of transmittal to formatting a reference list. It's on reserve at Engr/Math/CS Library, with older editions in the regular collection there.
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information, 3rd ed.
Includes everything you could imagine about writing a scientific paper. This is online and in print. The print copy is on reserve at the Chemistry Library (Iddles Wing, N109 Parsons); ask for it at the service desk.
more...less...
ACS = American Chemical Society
The MIT Guide to Science and Engineering Communication
This guide, by James G. Paradis and Muriel L. Zimmerman, is more detailed than Beer & McMurrey. It's on reserve at Engr/Math/CS Library; ask for it at the service desk.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Revised by Wayne C. Booth et al.
Call Number: Click link above for locations and call number.
ISBN: 022649442X
Publication Date: 2018
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
The Chicago Manual of Style is like Turabian on steroids. It has everything from citation styles to frequently-misspelled words for you. This link goes straight to the "Quick Guide" on citations.
more...less...
To access the full guide online, go to: http://librarycatalog.unh.edu/record=b2995153~S5
and click on the "Connect To" link.
The Craft of Scientific Presentations, 2nd ed.
Might as well include this very useful tome by Michael Alley. The UNH Library has the 2nd edition (2013) in print only (see catalog link above). The 1st edition (2003) is available both online and in print but has grown rather out-of-date.
APA guide info & more, compiled by the UNH Library Reference unit

Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian

Heather Castle

Email Me

Contact:

33 Academic Way

Kingsbury Hall, room S236

Durham, NH 03824

603-862-4529