Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For More Help
Research Center Phone: 603-862-1544
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian.
Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.
Recommended Key Databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact - individual, corporate and local/national governmental - to the environment, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences: journal articles, books, book chapters, etc.
Social Sciences Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Use Advanced Search to select SSCI.
Additional Databases to Consider
Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, including full text for nearly 200 journals
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Indexes over 400 journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Family Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
Kanopy Streaming Service
Access an ever-growing library of videos across diverse content areas.
Index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Has indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Use to identify journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, and emotional abuse.
Web of Science
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
Browse Geography Journals
Browzine - Geography
BrowZine allows you to browse, read, and follow many of the library’s scholarly journals via browser or from Android and iOS mobile devices.
Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.
This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.
If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
- the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal uses peer review
- the journal website, especially under About Us or Information for Authors (Example)
Look for the Refereed symbol next to the journal title in this database of information about journals
Note: Not everything in a journal is peer reviewed; letters to the editor, book reviews, news items, and other short works without listed references are typically not peer reviewed the way more substantive articles are.
Scholarly Sources vs Popular Sources