Reference Sources - GEOG 673 - Political Ecology

Why Use?

Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.

Background information:

definitions
specific factual information such as dates
overviews or summaries of topics
recommendations for additional sources

Types of reference sources

specialized encyclopedias
dictionaries
directories
statistical compilations
handbooks
bibliographies

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Online Reference Resources

Search for definitions and descriptions from an online collection of high quality reference sources in sociology.

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
CREDO Reference: Sociology
Search for your term within the individual titles under Sociology, across all subjects, or within Social Sciences category.

Selected Print Reference Sources

These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center.

Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Gerald R. Pitzl; Jerry Pitzl
Call Number: Dimond Reference HM 425 .E5 2000
ISBN: 0313320101
Publication Date: 2004-02-28
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
Call Number: Dimond Reference H 62 .L456 2004
ISBN: 0761923632
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World
Call Number: Dimond Reference HT 108.5 .E53 2002
ISBN: 0717256987
4-volume set
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Call Number: Dimond Reference HV 6017 .E524 2002
ISBN: 076192258X
4 volumes

Statistical Resources

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

American FactFinder
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau. (Unrestricted Access)
New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in the State of New Hampshire. (Unrestricted Access)
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series.
US Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. (Unrestricted Access)
UNH Library Data Services
For computer-based numeric and geospatial data resources in the library. Includes the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a collection of data sets available to members of ICPSR

Finding Grants

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on grantmakers and their grants, including foundations, corporate funders and giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the US Can also search recently awarded grants and recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

Video Streaming (Free!)

Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Partners with some of the worlds most creative filmmakers and respected distributors, offering tertiary institutions access to an ever-growing library of videos across diverse content areas like architecture, teacher education, health and safety, culture and politics in media, health studies and more.

GEOG 673 - Political Ecology: Reference Sources