Searching Databases for Information - ESCI 530 - Geological Field Methods

Key Databases for Earth Sciences

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Dates of coverage: 1693-current

Academic Search Ultimate
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines.
Lyell Collection
Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising of the The Geological Society of London journal titles, Special Publications and key book series.

Environmental sciences and pollution management
Provides abstracts and citations to material in the environmental sciences; includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Water resources abstracts
Provides access to technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

See a more complete list of earth sciences-related databases provided by the UNH Library HERE.

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy, & Non-Living Resources This link opens in a new window
This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.

Web of Science (aka Web of Knowledge)
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities.