Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work General Guide (UNH Manchester): Articles

Is It Peer Reviewed?

Still not sure if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal?

Check:

    • the database record, which sometimes indicates whether a journal is peer reviewed

    • the journal website, esp. under About Us or Information for Authors

    • Ulrichsweb, a database of information about journals, and look for the Refereed symbol next to the journal title

Recommended Key Databases

Search these indexes for records describing journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Social Work Abstracts
A core resource with records from social work and other related journals. Publication date coverage: 1977 to present.

Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, from over 1,640 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Publication date coverage: 1963 to present.

PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines. Publication date coverage: 1887 to present.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Indexes the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Identifies journal articles, books, and selected government publications Publication date coverage: 1972 to present

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., some of the following specialized databases may be helpful. Addiitonal specialized databases may be listed on guide pages for specific courses.

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
Includes citations over 980 educational and education-related journals plus books, reports, etc. Publication date coverage: 1966 to present.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Covers domestic and international journal articles, books, reports, etc. on a wide range of topics in criminal justice, including juvenile delinquency, courts, prisons, punishment and sentencing, etc. Publication date coverage: 1968 to present.

Criminology: A SAGE FUll-Text Collection
Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, covering juvenile justice, forensic psychology, family and domestic violenc, etc. Publication date coverage: 1973 to present (varies by title)

Violence and Abuse Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, etc

Family Studies Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, and family therapy, Publication date coverage: 1979 to present.

LGBT Life
Contains indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. Offers comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Information) Plus with Full Text
Covers over 1,700 professional journals in nursing and allied health disciplines, Publication date coverage: 1937 to present.

Medline (through EBSCOhost)
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system. Publication date coverage: 1966 to present.

Academic Search Complete
Academic journals and popular magazines from all disciplines.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text database of news articles from international and national newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts.

** For more online resources to help with your research, check out the complete Database List.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see ways the article may be available:

  • online by subscription or open access
  • in print at the UNH Library (use Document Delivery to have a scanned copy emailed)
  • request from another library via interlibrary loan

**This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Current Awareness & Alerts

Keep up with relevant journals or new literature being published on your topic by setting up alerts for

  • newly published tables of contents for specific journals or
  • newly added database records that match your saved search(es).

Publishers and database vendors provide a variety of ways of doing this.

Key Social Work Journals

Browse Tables of Contents from selected important social work journals.