Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Psychological Association - Topics
Basic information and links to articles, books, etc. on a variety of psychology topics.
National Institute of Mental Health
"The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure."
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
"SAMHSA’s mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities." Part of the US Dept. of Health and Human Services.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
This link goes to their page of mental health related research findings. AHRQ is part of the US Dept. of Health & Human Services.
Bureau of Behavioral Health (BBH) of the NH Dept. of Health & Human Services
Includes information on programs, community mental health centers, peer support agencies, and related resources.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
A "grassroots mental health advocacy organization"
NAMI's NH chapter
Mental Health America (formerly known as the National Mental Health Association)
Calls itself "the nation’s largest and oldest community-based network dedicated to helping all Americans live mentally healthier lives." The site has links to information, help, and action resources.
Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database
Developed by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) as a portal for information related to alcohol research.
Selected Online Reference Sources
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Published 2013, this is the most recent classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. Print copy also available at Research Center in Dimond.
DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) - Prrevious Editions
In PDF format. Print copy of DSM-IV-TR (2000) is available at the Research Center desk in Dimond. Search library catalog for other editions and books related to DSM.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
Psychologists And Their Theories For Students
Coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. An introductory essay, providing an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, is followed by detailed entries explaining each individual theory in practical terms and exploring the historical impact of each. Entries conclude with a bibliography and further reading list.
Key Thinkers in Psychology
Designed to help the reader understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is 'psychology'.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
Three-volume reference source covers topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, and applied contexts.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Using an interdisciplinary approach, covers all aspects of child development from prenatal development to education, neuroscience, and theories to physical development, social development, cognitive development, and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues and sex differences.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
A comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging: Aging and Time, Aging and Social Structure, Social Factors and Social Institutions, and Aging and Society.
The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
Guide to the current body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists with a broad focus on the behavioral and social sciences but also including the biological and medical sciences.