Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started: General Databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Includes reports through 2018 when the CRS started releasing reports directly to the public.
Full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, and abstracts for four national newspapers. Publication date coverage: 1995 to present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Viewpoint articles along with statistics, websites, reference and magazine/newspaper articles to get the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Not a good source for academic articles. Note: Some instructors have guidelines about using this database, so check with with your instructor.
How to Read for Grad School
Types of Articles
Details about types of articles
This grid describes the types of periodical articles--scholarly, popular, and newspaper--that you will find in the online databases.
Each type of periodical has its own purpose, intent, and audience.
Types of Periodicals:
- Research Journals
Request an Article from Another Library
It is possible to request items (books, journal articles, videos, etc.) from other libraries—across town, across the state and even across the country—by using a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Ulrichsweb is an easy-to-search source which provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals.
Look for the Refereed symbol next to the journal title in this database of information about journals
The links below provide examples of student brainstorming activities.