Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies.
Covers about 5,200 sources of biological and biomedical literature in the broadest sense.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Access to research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
Use the advanced search option! This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes articles in medical research journals. Updated daily, PubMed (a version of MEDLINE) covers about 4,000 sources of biomedical literature in the broadest sense.
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, etc.
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect is the platform for Elsevier publications.
Web of Science
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
Examples of Scholarly Research Studies
Request an Article from Another Library
It is possible to request items (books, journal articles, videos, etc.) from other libraries—across town, across the state and even across the country—by using a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Looking up a DOI
DOIs or digital object identifiers are serial numbers that identify a source regardless of URL changes.
DOI and URL Flowchart
Use the flowchart to determine when to include
DOIs, URLs, or database information for your reference
Advanced Search Skills
Search smart! Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms in the online databases. Get more relevant results and save time.
And - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education and technology finds articles that contain both terms.
Or - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education or technology finds results that contain either term.
Not - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education not technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.
Scholarship is a Conversation