Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEPS Innovation Scholars pages (UNH Durham): Saving & Citing

Shared strategies for finding & using information on your project topics.

Bibliographic Management Software

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open source bibliographic management tool that operates as an extension of the Firefox browser.   Zotero allows the collection of citations to any kind of material and automatically formats bibliographies in almost any style.  Zotero also has many search, tagging, and note taking features.  Visit the UNH Library Zotero guide or the  Zotero quick start guide to learn more. 

EndNote

EndNote is another option, which you can buy at the UNH Computer Store (academic discount); EndNote Basic on the web is also offered when you use the Web of Science database, which the library subscribes to.  This enables users to collect, organize, and format citations from Web of Science and other databases on the same platform, such as Biosis (Biological Abstracts) and Medline.  To register, go into the Web of Science database and click on "EndNote" at the top of the screen.  Endnote accounts can be accessed from any computer here or off-campus. 

RefWorks

As of Fall 2018, the UNH Library is moving toward Zotero support.  RefWorks migration workshops are being offered all year.

Citing your sources

When to cite: Cite your sources when you: quote, paraphrase, use their ideas, or use their images.  Citing good sources makes you look good as an author.  When in doubt, cite!

How to cite:  Use the style guide recommended by your instructor.  If there is no recommendation, the Library has many books on communication and writing for engineers and others in technical professions. 

Save, export, or email citations from databases when you search for articles.  You can use software to organize (see box to the left) and also to re-format your citations for papers you are writing. 

For in-person writing help, and online guides to writing, citing, and avoiding plagiarism, UNH's Connors Writing Center, located in Dimond Library, is the place to go.  Make an appointment to have your draft reviewed.

Here are selected guides:

Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Heather Castle
Contact:
33 Academic Way

Kingsbury Hall, room S236

Durham, NH 03824

603-862-4529