Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanities 401 - Imagining the Divine: Religion and Art: Biographies and Encyclopedias

First Steps

For background information, start with an exhaustive reference work such as  Oxford Art Online . Both the 'Guided Tour' and 'Tips for Users' (available from the Home page) provide useful information on searching.

Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. 

Online Reference Source

Online Reference Sources

Using Reference Sources

The Reference Collection on the 3rd Floor of Dimond Library is a good place to start your research. Reference sources can provide background on your area of study, help you focus your topic, and serve as a springboard to other research.  

In our collection you'll find:

  • dictionaries
  • general encyclopedias (such as World Book)
  • specialized encyclopedias that go into depth on one particular area of study
  • almanacs
  • bibliographies

Check with your instructor to verify which reference sources may be cited in your project and which should be used for background research only.

Art Reference Books

Materials in the Reference Collection may only be used in the library.  Below is a list of specialized encyclopedias that you may find useful with your research.

Additional Print Reference Books