Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For background information, start with an exhaustive reference work such as Oxford Art Online . Both the 'Guided Tour' and 'Tips for Users' (available from the Home page) provide useful information on searching.
Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful.
Online Reference Sources
American National Biography
The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Biography in Context
Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Oxford Art Online
An online encyclopedia of art "from prehistory to the present day."
Additional Online Reference Resources
- Biography in Context
Content includes reference material, magazines, audio and video content, images, and links to screened, reliable websites
- Oxford Music Online Resource Offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works
Print Reference Sources
The Reference Collection on the 3rd Floor of Dimond Library is another good place to start your research. Reference sources can provide background on your area of study, help you focus your topic, and serve as a springboard to other research.
In our collection you'll find:
- general encyclopedias (such as World Book)
- specialized encyclopedias that go into depth on one particular area of study
Check with your instructor to verify which reference sources may be cited in your project and which should be used for background research only.
Art Reference Books
Materials in the Reference Collection may only be used in the library. Below is a list of specialized encyclopedias that you may find useful with your research.
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by
Publication Date: 2003-01-22
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by
Call Number: N 7565 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture by
Call Number: REF NB198 .E53 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-31
With an international scope, this fully illustrated reference spans the entire history of sculpture, from prehistoric times to the twenty-first century.