Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Econ726

Sources for Finding Reports & Articles

UNH Library Search Box

If you are looking for a specific journal title or publication title, start with the Search Box. The library search box searches over 125 databases (journal articles, newspapers, magazines, reports, etc.) at once, providing FULL TEXT to many articles. Searching by keyword, author, or subject is a good strategy.

If full text for your material is not available, please request an article for FREE using Interlibrary Loan

Databases for finding scholarly articles:

UNH Library Databases by Subject (search one database at a time vs. the search box; examples: JSTOR, ScienceDirect, etc)

Google Scholar (if full text is not available, put the article title into the library search box for full text or request through Interlibrary Loan)

Resources for Finding Data

IPUMS

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.

US Census Bureau

Includes data tools, apps, and visualization of US Census and Economic Census data. 

NBER Public use data archive  

The NBER data collection here is an eclectic mix of public use economic, demographic, and enterprise data obtained over the years to satisfy the specific requests of NBER affiliated researchers for particular projects.

Other U.S. Data 

Individual-level data on income, employment, health, and more. These data sources have anonymized information about individuals that allows researchers to study microeconomic questions.

 

Additional Research Resources: Government and Multinational Institutions

Regional Federal Reserve Banks provide research on a variety of topics, including macro and finance *

Look for policy/issue brief types of pubs that are written for a wider audience.

Here's an example from Boston:

https://www.bostonfed.org/publications/current-policy-perspectives/2018/wage-inflation-and-informal-work.aspx

and one from St. Louis:

https://research.stlouisfed.org/publications/page1-econ/2018/03/01/bitcoin-money-or-financial-investment

The Fed Banks are also the go-to sources for macro & financial data.

Government Accountability Office (GAO).  GAO reports cover a wide range of topics

WorldBank - source for data and reports. 

U.S. Macroeconomic Data 

U.S. data concerning employment, economic output, and other macroeconomic variables.

World Data (non U.S.) 

Find international data here