Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Request an Article from Another Library
It is possible to request items (books, journal articles, videos, etc.) from other libraries—across town, across the state and even across the country—by using a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Things to think about when searching for articles
Remember to think critically about the material you locate while conducting research. What type of article is it? Is it an appropriate source for your paper? These guides will help you to search for articles and evaluate the articles you find.
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Literature Criticism Online
A range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Online (LION)
full-text resource for English and American literature. Provides access to primary sources (English and American poetry, fiction, and drama) and secondary sources (article citations, Internet resource links for literature, biographical information, and more).
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
The primary database for literature, MLA contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from more than 4,400 journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Use to identify journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences: journal articles, books, book chapters, etc.
Web of Science
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
How to Read for Grad School
Check for Full Text
Check for Full Text – When searching for articles in databases, you will often see this button in the list of results. The "Check for Full Text" button will initiate a search in all of the UNH databases to see if the article is available in full text in another database. Taking this extra step saves you time in obtaining copies of articles.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines.
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences.