Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the ENGL 401 Research Guide
This guide will help students in ENGL 401 and those looking for general help get started with using UNH library resources. On this page, you'll find the library search box, which searches many databases and the library catalog simultaneously, as well as a list of frequently recommended databases for ENGL 401 students and other undergraduate researchers. Other tabs include gif tutorials and citation help resources.
If you have questions, please email Arts & Humanities Librarian Kathrine Aydelott at email@example.com or make an appointment with her at https://bit.ly/COLA_ArtsHums.
For More Help
Chat, email, or schedule a consultation with a subject librarian!
Ask A Librarian
Top Databases for ENGL 401
Databases for Background Research
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
General databases for more in-depth research
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Viewpoint articles along with statistics, websites, reference and magazine/newspaper articles to get the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Not a good source for academic articles. Note: Some instructors have guidelines about using this database, so check with with your instructor.
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, and abstracts for four national newspapers. Publication date coverage: 1995 to present.
Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic, Nexis Uni is a database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, and case law.
Google's academic search. Will find academic sources, with limited full text.
Subject & Discipline Specific Databases
These databases may provide access to unique sources that cover topics in a specific subject area. If your topic is related to the subject area, you may find relevant sources quicker by using a subject database.
Business Source Ultimate
Learn about accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management and much more with one comprehensive package that also includes full text of journals found in key subject indexes. In addition, delve into case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact - individual, corporate and local/national governmental - to the environment, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Use to identify journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Indexes over 1,200 international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine to cover all aspects of sport.
Index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Has indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences: journal articles, books, book chapters, etc.
Access a full list of all 300+ UNH Library Databases, organized by subject area and type of source at http://www.library.unh.edu/find/databases