Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started: Databases for Exploring Science Topics
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies.
Full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, and abstracts for four national newspapers. Publication date coverage: 1995 to present.
Biology Is Technology by
Publication Date: 2010-02-25
Biotechnology Unzipped by
Publication Date: 2006-08-26
Welcome to BioTech Nation by
Publication Date: 2007-06-13
Deeper Dive: Science Content Databases
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles from over 550 periodicals, both trade and professional society journals. Subject scope includes aeronautics; computing; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas.
Covers about 5,200 sources of biological and biomedical literature in the broadest sense.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Access to research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, etc.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world’s scientific and medical literature a public resource.
Use the advanced search option! This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes articles in medical research journals. Updated daily, PubMed (a version of MEDLINE) covers about 4,000 sources of biomedical literature in the broadest sense.
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect is the platform for Elsevier publications.
Web of Science
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.