Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLT 595: Smart Politics (UNH Durham)

Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Additional Search Options

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

  • identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
  • useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

  • hard to organize or sort in useful ways
  • unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

  • Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)
  • Bibliography Manager shows links to import citations into RefWorks (if you're using RefWorks)

Connect to

The search box on the library homepage is a discovery service that allows you to search approximately 60 UNH databases and some open access (freely available) resources at one time.

This can be useful if you want

  • multidisciplinary coverage specifically
  • initial exploration
  • additional resource by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed articles. An advanced search screen with additional options is available:

NOTE: ProQuest databases such as PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts, are not included in the discovery search.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for UNH Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.