Research Guides: POLT 595: Smart Politics (UNH Durham): Statistics & Data

Mapping Data

For easy mapping of data:

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This Geographic Information System tool is for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, even down to the census tract or block group level. Included is an extensive data collection, with indicators organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analytics.

Chat, email, or schedule a consultation with a subject librarian!

Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.
Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. Dates of coverage: 2013-current

American National Election Studies
From 1948, the American National Election Studies (ANES) program has produced high quality data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.

iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of poll data; all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of questions and responses, from surveys, conducted in the United States and other countries around the world. Dates of coverage: 1986-current

America Votes
Call Number: Dimond Reference JK 1967 .A8
Includes official, state-certified election returns and key data by county and by district for House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections for 1956+

Selected sources of data that may be re-used:

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
This data archive acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations. Note: Users must register for an account. UNH users are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper left corner of the page.

Data.gov
Data.gov provides metadata (descriptions) for Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal and Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here.