Research Guides: POLT 900: Political Science Pro-Seminar (UNH Durham): Government Information & IGOs

Government Information

CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 2018+ This link opens in a new window
Now directly released by the CRS, which prepares these reports for the use of Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. Reports are produced on topics of interest to Congress.
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 1965-2018 This link opens in a new window
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise.
Note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.
govinfo This link opens in a new window
Access full text federal government publications from all three branches. Offers a user-friendly, modernized site that provides easy-to-use navigation with multiple ways to search or browse. Replaces FDsys. Dates of coverage: 1793-current
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing for US legislative information, with much full text from mid-1990s . Added in 2017 is full text for Congressional hearings (1824-1979), committee prints and Congressional Research Service reports (1830-2003), and unpublished hearings (House: 1973-1982; Senate: 1985-1992). Dates of coverage: 1789-current

Catalog of US Government Publications
Includes publications distributed through the federal depository library program and more.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
An investigatory arm of Congress, the GAO often reports on program evaluation and outcomes.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
List of Foreign Governments
Has links to official government portals or homepages and to legislative and executive branch institutions

Also look for offices or agencies on the local or regional level, if appropriate.

Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)

The Union of International Associations describes an IGO as "an organization composed primarily of sovereign states, or of other intergovernmental organizations [and usually] are established by treaty or other agreement..."

Examples of IGOs include

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, featuring its books, papers and statistics, and gateway to OECDs analysis and data. Also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).