Research Guides: Sociology: Find Articles

Social Sciences, Public Policy & Government Information Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Dimond Library, Room 323C

Consultations may be in person, via Zoom, or by phone. I'll send a Zoom link after an appointment is scheduled.

603-862-1435

Subjects: Anthropology, Anthropology & Sociology, Communication, Communications, Education, Geography & Area Studies, Grants & Philanthropy, Law, Justice Studies & Criminology, Library & Information Science, New Hampshire, Political Science, Public Policy & International Affairs, Psychology, Sociology

Recommended Key Databases

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current

Social Sciences Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Use Advanced Search to select SSCI.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world. Dates of coverage: 1968-current
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior--more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Partners with some of the worlds most creative filmmakers and respected distributors, offering tertiary institutions access to an ever-growing library of videos across diverse content areas like architecture, teacher education, health and safety, culture and politics in media, health studies and more.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Dates of coverage: 1995-current
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Peer Review?

Check:

the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal uses peer review
the journal website, especially under About Us or Information for Authors (Example)

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and access information for thosands of serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Note: Not everything in a journal is peer reviewed; letters to the editor, book reviews, news items, and other short works without listed references are typically not peer reviewed the way more substantive articles are.