Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For More Help
Research Center Phone: 603-862-1544
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian.
Accessing Library Resources
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences: journal articles, books, book chapters, etc.
Very Short Introductions: Social Sciences
Provides concise introductions to the social sciences covering a range of subject areas: anthropology, criminology and criminal justice, human geography, politics, sociology, and more.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Call Number: Dimond Reference HM 425 .C36 2006
Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
Available in print and online
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
provide users with a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Offers descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods as well as tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Encyclopedia covering the disciplines of sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, psychology and other fields.