Research Guides: Sociology: Reference Sources

Why Use?

Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.

Background information:

definitions
specific factual information such as dates
overviews or summaries of topics
recommendations for additional sources

Types of reference sources

specialized encyclopedias
dictionaries
directories
statistical compilations
handbooks
bibliographies

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Online Reference Resources

Search for definitions and descriptions from an online collection of high quality reference sources in sociology.

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
CREDO Reference: Sociology
Search for your term within the individual titles under Sociology, across all subjects, or within Social Sciences category.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society This link opens in a new window
Provide users with a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement This link opens in a new window
Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Responding to growing demands for transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods, it will increase the proficiency of everyone who gathers and analyzes data. Covering all core social science disciplines, the articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process. Published 2005
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering the disciplines of sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, psychology and other fields. 2nd edition
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Describes the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Comprised of articles and bibliographic references, as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. 1st edition, 2001
Very Short Introductions: Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Provides concise introductions to the social sciences covering a range of subject areas: anthropology, criminology and criminal justice, human geography, politics, sociology, and more.

Selected Print Reference Sources

A Dictionary of Sociology
Call Number: Dimond Reference HM 425 .D5735 2009
ISBN: 0199533008
3rd ed. rev. Covers all aspects of sociology and includes terms from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.

These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Library Research Center.

Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: Dimond Reference HM 425 .E5 2000
ISBN: 0028648536
2nd ed. 5-volume set
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
Call Number: Dimond Reference H 62 .L456 2004
ISBN: 0761923632
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World
Call Number: Dimond Reference HT 108.5 .E53 2002
ISBN: 0717256987
4-volume set
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Call Number: Dimond Reference HV 6017 .E524 2002
ISBN: 076192258X
4 volumes

Statistical Resources

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

Census Data
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau. (Unrestricted Access)
New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in the State of New Hampshire. (Unrestricted Access)
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series.
US Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. (Unrestricted Access)
UNH Library Data Services
For computer-based numeric and geospatial data resources in the library. Includes the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a collection of data sets available to members of ICPSR