Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.
- specific factual information such as dates
- overviews or summaries of topics
- recommendations for additional sources
Types of reference sources
- specialized encyclopedias
- statistical compilations
For More Help
Research Center Phone: 603-862-1544
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian.
Online Reference Resources
Search for definitions and descriptions from an online collection of high quality reference sources in sociology.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
provide users with a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Offers descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods as well as tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Encyclopedia covering the disciplines of sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, psychology and other fields.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
First attempt since 1968 to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Comprises 4,000 articles and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Selected Print Reference Sources
A Dictionary of Sociology
Call Number: Dimond Reference HM 425 .D5735 2009
3rd ed. rev. Covers all aspects of sociology and includes terms from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.
These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Library Research Center.
Comprehensive access to statistical information from state and federal government agencies, IGOs, and nonprofit organizations.
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau. (Unrestricted Access)
New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in the State of New Hampshire. (Unrestricted Access)
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series.
US Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. (Unrestricted Access)
UNH Library Data Services
For computer-based numeric and geospatial data resources in the library. Includes the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a collection of data sets available to members of ICPSR