Research Guides: Genealogy and Local History @ UNH: Genealogy in the UNH Library

Ask A Librarian

Selected Titles from Our Genealogy Collection

French Canadian Sources by Patricia Kenney Geyh
Call Number: Genealogy CS88.Q4 F74 2002
ISBN: 1931279012
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research by Marcia D. Melnyk
Call Number: Genealogy F3 .G466 1999
ISBN: 0880821051
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
The Genealogy Sourcebook by Sharon DeBartolo Carmack
Call Number: Genealogy CS44 .C39 1997
ISBN: 1565657942
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
The Source by Loretto D. Szucs (Editor); Sandra H. Luebking (Editor)
Call Number: Genealogy CS49 .S65 1997
ISBN: 0916489671
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Walking with Your Ancestors by Melinda Kashuba
Call Number: Genealogy CS49 .K37 2005
ISBN: 1558707301
Publication Date: 2005-08-20

Genealogy Collection

The Genealogy Collection of books on Level 1 of the UNH Library (Dimond) focuses on New Hampshire and New England family research .

Highlights of the Collection Include:

Published family histories
French Canadian genealogy resources
New England heritage and history books
Mayflower families and the Great Migration
Military publications such as Maine Revolutionary War Soldiers
Access to Federal Census Records (1790-1940)
General Genealogy guides

Resources from the Genealogy Collection do not circulate and can only be used in the library, but there are scanners and photocopiers on the library's main level (Level 3).

Library Databases for Genealogical Research

American Ancestors (NEHGS) This link opens in a new window
New England Historic Genealogical Society website, providing access to genealogical records spanning the U.S. and beyond.

Ancestry.com Library Edition
Large collection of resources for starting genealogical and historical research. Includes more than 4000 databases including the entire US Federal Census (1790-1940). Available only inside the library. NOTE: Not as comprehensive as a personal Ancestry subscription: some functionalities and resources not available.

Fold3 This link opens in a new window
Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

Other Regional Resources

Milne Special Collections and Archives

Northam Colonists/Dover Historical Society Papers, 1856-2003

The Milne Special Collections and Archives is on Level 1 of the UNH Library (Dimond) and contains a variety of resources for genealogical research.

Some collections have access restrictions, so please check the links below for finding aid descriptions and call Special Collections and Archives with questions: 603-862-2714.

Subject Collections

Genealogy and Family Papers

The Milne Special Collections and Archives also contains a variety of subject-specific collections that might be of interest to genealogists.

Other Subject Collections