This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Philanthropy, Grants and Fund Development Resources (UNH Durham)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philanthropy, Grants and Fund Development Resources (UNH Durham)   Tags: donor_relations, nonprofits, philanthropic  

In support of RMP 924. this guide points to some high-quality resources that will help you find material about philanthropy, grants, donor relations, funding sources and evaluation of such sources.
Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.unh.edu/philanthropy Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Philanthropy

Philanthropy1

 

For More Help

Contact the Reference Desk:

Phone - 603-862-1544

Visit, email, chat, text or schedule a consultation appointment

 

Accessing Library Resources

Some of the resources in this guide are freely available.

Others such as online databases and electronic journals may be accessed by users on the UNH network, including from workstations in the Library.

Off-campus access to most databases and electronic journals as well as the capability to request materials from other libraries is generally limited to current UNH students, faculty, and staff. 

 

Acknowledgment

Grateful acknowledgment is made to Lois Kepes, Reference/Public Services Librarian at the University of Pittsburgh, for permission to adapt her guide on this topic.

What do I want to do?

 

Definitions

A nonprofit is a group, organization, institution or corporation formed to provide goods and/or services for a charitable, educational, religious, literary or scientific purpose. Nonprofits' assets are usually donated by companies, foundations or individuals who do not expect to be repaid. These contributions are tax deductible.

Philanthropy is generally defined as the voluntary granting of money, goods, services or support by an individual, foundation, corporation or endowment.

If a foundation or nonprofit meets the requirements of section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, it can obtain tax-exempt status and does not pay federal or state income taxes.

For more information on what nonprofits do and terminology about nonprofits, philanthropy and funding, see:

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Nonprofit Terms & Concepts - David Horton Smith, Robert A. Stebbins, Michael A. Dover
Call Number: Dimond Ref HD 2769.15 .S63 2006
ISBN: 0253347831
This alphabetical dictionary includes an introduction that groups concepts into ten clusters of meaningful sets. Also provides a 68-page bibliography of readings relevant to nonprofits.

Funding Terminology
The online glossary from the Foundation Center explains key funding terminology.

 

Online Book

Useful Journals

A selected list of journals that focus on philanthropy, foundations, and nonprofit organizations.

Other articles may be found by searching databases; see this guide's Databases page for recommended databases to start with.

This guide's Databases page also lists additional philanthropy- or grant-oriented journals or newsletters.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip