Research Guides: Psychology (UNH Durham): Articles

List of Psychology Databases at UNH

Psychology Databases
More than 20 subject-specific databases for finding journal articles, tests and measurements, encyclopedias, and other resources.

Suggested Databases to Start With

The key database to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources in the field of psychology is

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Other databases that are often useful in research in psychology include

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Database of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Dates of coverage: 1894-current
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Journal citations and abstracts for physiological, neurological, and related aspects of psychology

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful, especially if you're doing interdisciplinary research.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Dates of coverage: 1995-current
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world. Dates of coverage: 1968-current
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more. Dates of coverage: 1937-current
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio

This can be useful if you want

multidisciplinary coverage specifically
initial exploration
additional resources by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed journals and by publication date, An advanced search with additional options is available:

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

hard to organize or sort in useful ways
unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)

Connect to

Google Scholar

Psychology (UNH Durham)

For More Help

Tutorials on Finding Full Text

Tutorials on How to Interlibrary Loan

List of Psychology Databases at UNH

Suggested Databases to Start With

Additional Databases to Consider

Additional Search Options