Health and Human Services Resources: HHS Databases

An evidence-based point-of-care tool ideal for clinical settings. It contains concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence, as well as drug content, medication management, and IV compatibility information from Micromedex Standard Drug Information.

An evidence-based knowledge system with content written and edited by a global community of physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Includes clinical topics across many specialties, including graded treatment recommendations. Authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. Also includes medical calculators and a drug and drug interaction database.

First published revision (2022) to DSM-5 (published 2013) and includes updates from three separate revision processes. A classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.

Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more. Dates of coverage: 1937-current

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from thousands of current biomedical journals.

Provides access to articles in medical research journals and citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.

A leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health and medicine. A global and independent network of researchers, health professionals, and patients utilize rigorous methodologies to produce high quality, relevant, and up-to-date synthesized research evidence, protocols, editorials, and supplements.

Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC). Dates of coverage: 1800-current

The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.

Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.

A repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. An authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century. Also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English.

Contains indexing and abstracts from more than 850 social work and human services journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Note: UNH's license limits access to a maximum of 4 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time, as for a course. Dates of coverage: 1965-current

Provides information on grantmakers and their grants, including foundations, corporate funders and giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the US Can also search recently awarded grants and recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

Provides educational materials, visual resources, and information for therapists, educators, and caregivers in the physical and occupational therapy field. Videos have actual patients and therapists in real life treatment settings. Stroke patients are just a fraction of the content; diagnoses include musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental and behavioral, respiratory, and pediatric disorders.

Provides science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Millions of scientists, educators and students at thousands of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for their research, teaching and learning.

Mental health education and training film library of mental health simulations providing viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. The films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decreases the stigma for those facing psychological issues. See Resource Library and Blog for tools and tips.

See Journal of Visualized Experiments: JoVE