Research Guides: IA 701: Seminar (UNH Durham): Articles & Databases

Scholarly/Academic & Peer Reviewed Articles

Scholarly (aka academic) articles are written by and for academics, researchers, and experts in the specific topic or broader subject area of the article. Typically involves commercial or professional association publishers.

Peer reviewed (aka refereed) articles are those scholarly articles which have been reviewed prior to publication by other experts in the topic of the article. Often reviewers are external (not members of the journal's editorial staff or board).

Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one or more of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List for other options.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration. Dates of coverage: 1975-current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost)
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Business Source Ultimate
Offers access to peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
EconLit with Full Text
Coverage of major economics and finance journals, including the American Economic Association journals, as well as essays, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Women's Studies International
Covers core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education, and more.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Indexes journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world. Dates of coverage: 1968-current
Anthropological Literature (EBSCO)
Indexes articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries found in hundreds of journals and monographic series. International coverage includes social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects. Dates of coverage: 19th century-current
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Dates of coverage: 1450-current
Index Islamicus
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages.
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Dates of coverage: 1888-current
GreenFILE
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Start here!

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and streaming video and audio - it searches multiple databases at once.

To get relevant results, click on Advanced Search and use the Ways to Search with Keywords, Limiting Your Search Results, and Search Tips & Tricks below to research like a pro!

If you're not sure which search terms to use, try Google Scholar to start - its natural language searching may bring back articles using terms you never thought of!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (GS) is useful for specific kinds of searching

When you don't know the right terms to search, GS uses natural language searching which can help you fish around for useful search terms.
When you find one great article, you can use GS - type in the article title, then in the listing click "cited by" to see who has cited that article in their more recent one.
When you want to look for unpublished articles or other grey literature.

Please note: you can search it like and advanced search in a database, using AND, OR, or NOT to search.

Use GS settings to choose UNH Library!

That will show you what you have access to via UNH Library in the right column.

IA 701: Seminar (UNH Durham)

Getting Articles

Tutorials on Finding Full Text

Tutorials on How to Interlibrary Loan

For More Help