Research Guides: ICPSR & Other Social Science Data Sources: Other Data Sites

Other Data Sites

US Census Bureau Data Repository
Hosted at ICPSR. Preserves survey instruments, specifications, data dictionaries, codebooks, and other materials. ICPSR has also listed additional Census-related data collections from its larger holdings.
Data Catalog at Data.gov
Portal to open data collected by U.S. Government agencies. Use the filter options at the left to help navigate. Includes metadata, how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage them.

Federal Reserve Economic Data This link opens in a new window
Download, graph, and track many economic time series from US and international sources.

General Social Survey
General Social Survey (GSS) is a long running survey of social, cultural and political indicators. In addition to the GSS, topic modules include computer and Internet, racial and ethnic prejudice, and child mental-health stigma. The GSS has participated since 1985 in the International Social Survey Program.
Roper Center - Dataset Search
Over 12,000 US and 8,000 international dataset abstracts; UNH subscription database

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) This link opens in a new window
Collection of hundreds of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers interested in religion. Includes American and international collections.
iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of poll data; all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.

Other libraries have compiled guides listing sources for social science data, for example:

Data Sources & Repositories
From the Robert E. Kennedy Library, California Polytechnic State University
Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences
From Tulane University Libraries