Welcome to the UNH Library

Written work that is published in journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. You can search for articles that UNH has access to (and those that we don’t) through Databases and the Library Search Box.

One of the key ways for you to get help. Have a question or need research help? You can reach out directly or book one-on-one assistance with a librarian.

A label made up of letters and numbers that tells you where to find a book or other item in the library and what subject it’s about. You can see the call number by looking up the item in the library catalog. At UNH Library, we mostly use the Library of Congress Classification system.

An online list of what the library owns or provides access to, including books, articles, videos, and more. You can search it using the library’s search box.

The details about a book, article, or other source that help someone find it. For a book, this usually means the author, title, publisher, and year it was published. For an article, it might include the author, article title, journal name, volume, date, and page numbers. “Citing” means giving credit to the source where you got your information.

They can help you quickly create citations for books, articles, websites, and other sources in styles like MLA or APA. They’re often built into library search tools and databases, so you can grab a citation while you’re finding your sources. Some downloadable citation software includes Zotero and Mendeley. They’re a great shortcut, but they’re not perfect — always proofread them to make sure the details are correct.

Computers located on the main floor of Dimond Library with software that is accessible only to UNH students, faculty, and staff. Log-in with your email username@usnh.edu to access.

There are also a dozen computers on the main floor with internet and MS Office access that don't require a log-in.

Some databases use pre-approved terms (sometimes called subject terms) to describe topics. They help provide a consistent definition of terms and phrases and help keep information organized and searchable. This process is called indexing and it’s how databases organize information, so you find relevant materials on a topic.

Course reserves are books, articles, lecture notes and other materials that your instructor has requested be made available to your class for limited circulation periods. Some items may be electronically accessible through the library. Print copies may be checked out for short periods from the Information Desk. You can search for Course Reserves by class, instructor, or title. Be sure to check the library location for each item.

An online collection of information you can search, often focused on a specific subject. Databases are one of the main ways to find articles on a topic. Most of the library’s databases require a subscription, so you can use them in the library or, if you’re off-campus, by logging in with your UNH account (available to current students, faculty, and staff).

Online versions of books, letters, photos, and other items from the UNH Library’s collections. Many are scanned from original materials. Popular examples include The Granite (UNH yearbook), The New Hampshire (student newspaper), and town reports from hundreds of New Hampshire towns.

The main desk location in the library where you will borrow and return library items. Folks at the information desk can also help with directions and lots of other library related information.

The Information Desks are located near the front doors of each library location.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) lets you borrow books, articles, and other materials from libraries outside of UNH if we don’t have what you need.

All UNH students, faculty, and staff can use it. To get started, you’ll need to set up an account—find instructions on the Interlibrary Loan page.

We use a system called ILLiad to handle requests.

A publication containing articles on specialized topics, written by researchers or scholars. A journal is a type of periodical.

Did you know you can borrow more than books? You can check-out recording equipment, cameras, chargers, SAD lamps, umbrellas and even a bike pump.

The main search tool on the library’s website (library.unh.edu). It lets you search much of what the UNH Library offers—books (print and online), journal articles, movies, and more—all in one place. It’s a good place to start if you’re not sure where to look.

Open access means making research and scholarly articles available free online for anyone to read, usually under the terms of an open license that allows people to copy, share, or reuse the work, as long as they follow citation practices.

Articles published in journals that are checked by experts in the same field before they’re accepted for publication. Peer-reviewed articles often include original research. You can make an appointment with a librarian if you'd like help finding them.

A publication that comes out on a regular schedule, such as weekly, monthly, or quarterly. Examples include magazines, newspapers, and journals. They can be online or in print. Periodicals are sometimes also called serials.

Copying someone else’s work and passing it off as your own.

Materials that give a first-hand account of a subject or event. Examples include diaries, photographs, and interviews. Original research studies are also called primary sources.

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, thesauruses, indexes and other materials that are commonly referred to for information.

Many reference materials are now available online. Some are located in the library's database collections. Some are openly online, including Wikipedia.

Resources to help get you started in your research. Research guides are organized by subject and sometimes specific to courses.

Articles, reports, theses, dissertations, and more by UNH students, faculty, and staff.

Student scholarship, including undergraduate honors theses and Undergraduate Research Conference presentations are sometimes found in the Scholars Repository.

Shelves in the library which hold books, journals, and other library materials. At the UNH Library, most shelves are openly accessible to library users.

If you're having trouble finding material on the shelves (stacks), be sure to ask for help.

Long research projects written at the end of a graduate degree. A thesis is usually for a master’s degree and shows original research or deep study of a topic. A dissertation is for a doctoral degree and is often longer, with more extensive original research, that often adds new knowledge to the field