Research Guides: Marketing 520: Industry &amp; Market Research Tools

Industry & Consumer Research

IBISWorld
Includes Industry Research Reports that provide key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants; Industry Risk Rating Reports that determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry; Global Industry Reports that assess industry performance in key regions like Europe, the Middle East, Africa; and: Business Environment Reports that list key factors outside the control of an organization that determine the performance of the industry.
Statista
Resource researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. Good for visualized data, graphics for presentations, and survey results.

Company & Competitor Research

Mergent Intellect
Provides company data on over 200 million held companies globally. Also provides industry overviews by SIC and NAICS codes. Company news, tweets, and executive information is also available.
Marketline
Provides access to resources covering company, country, industry, and product intelligence.
Search by company name to locate:
-list of products & brands
-SWOT analysis
-financials
-company history
-competitors
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
A reference directory that contains detailed information on nearly 12 million U.S. businesses. Good for smaller, private companies with single locations.
Pitchbook
Private company intelligence. Information on investment, private equity, and venture capital. Requires a UNH.EDU email to register.
Mergent Online
U.S. data for publicly traded companies
more...less...
U.S Company Archive Data
Full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for more than 12,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward.

International Company Data
A fully searchable database of over 27,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Mergent Online subscribers gain immediate access to companies representing over 95% of the non-global market capitalization.

International Company Archive Data
Similar to the U.S. archive, the International Archive contains detailed financial information on 12,000 non-U.S. companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged from 1995 onward. Research a company's final balance sheet, income statement, capital structure, and view rich textual business descriptions, histories, and information on officers and directors.

Global Company Financials
Provides standardized company financials based on globally accepted XBRL taxonomies for active companies with transparency from standardized to source documents. Also included are over 25 years of global as reported financial statements.

Dun & Bradstreet® Private Company Database
Over 34 million private company records are available for both domestic and international companies. 450,000 North American Private Company Financials.

Selected Business News and Journals

The Economic Times
Full text available from 08/24/2010 to present.
Economist
Access to current print editions in library, limited online access through Gale
Entrepreneur
Articles, interviews, business profiles, financing, marketing, advertising and legislative news of note aimed at the small business owner or those planning to start a new or additional business.
The Financial Times
Full text available online from 05/31/1996 to 1 month ago. Recent print issues available in library.
Forbes
Forbes online magazine, articles specifically focused on Innovation
Harvard Business Review
Available in full text 1922-present
New York Times Online
Online interface with all NYT features, including archival content back to 1851.
Available in Spanish and Mandarin Chinese.
Wall Street Journal
Access in HTML format to WSJ, which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, company news, investments and business-oriented news as well as in-depth features focusing on the national and world economy. Searchable by keyword, type of articles, etc.