Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alerts and Related Services: Guide To Guides: Home

This guide to guides lists the library guides developed by librarians at other institutions on various types of alerts provided by database and journal publishers.

Selected Library Guides

     Covers basic techniques for setting up different types of alerts (a.k.a. current awareness services) - including table of contents and saved searches via email, RSS feed, blogs, and Twitter.
     By Lorrie Pellack at Iowa State University  |  Last update: Jul 29, 2020
 

 

     Alerts are offered by journal publishers and other databases to help you keep up with recent publications related your research interests.
     By Dana McFarland at Vancouver Island University Library  |  Last update: Aug 6, 2020

 

 
Alerting Services
     This Guide covers Saved Search, TOC and Citation Alerts for selected databases (based on those available at the Library of the University of Newcastle, Australia).
     By University of Newcastle librarians  |  Last update: Jul 13, 2020
     Tags: alerts, citation_alerts

 

 
Keep Current
     Summary of current awareness services, such as Table of Contents Alerts, Search Alerts, and Cited Reference Alerts
     By Kate Zoellner at University of Montana-Missoula  |  Last update: Sep 1, 2020
     Tags: alerts, keeping_up, rss

 

 
Creating Search Alerts
     Learn all about search alerts, table of contents alerts, and citation alerts for all of your research needs (video shows how for Ebsco, Google Scholar, and Proquest databases).
     By Library Help at University of Utah  |  Last update: Nov 11, 2019
 
    Note:  at UNH, you can use Web of Science for citation alerts rather than Scopus as is shown in this guide.

 

A guide to resources that provide current awareness, article alerts and rss access to scholarly research materials.
By RIS Dept. at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee  |  Last update: Dec 7th, 2010
 

 

Alert Services or Current Awareness Services alert researchers when a new article or journal on a particular topic is published.
By Frank Lester at Vanderbilt University  |  Last update: Jun 23rd, 2011
  |  Tags: alert_services

 

Keeping Alert - Tracking New Articles and Books in your field  
A guide to using emailed alerts, table of contents services, and RSS feeds to keep up with what's being written in your area of interest.
By Hailey Mooney at University of Michigan | Updated

 

(search within this guide)
A guide to alert services designed to save you time and make the research process easier.
These pages in the Keeping Up @ Pitt: Database Alerts, Book Alerts, & RSS Feeds guide contain your search term:

 By Robin Kear at University of Pittsburgh  |  Last update: Mar 29th, 2011 |  Tags: academic_tools, collaboration, research, rss

 

Alerts

(search within this guide)

This guide will assist users on how to create alerts in databases.
These pages in the Alerts guide contain your search term:
By Elena Soltau at Nova Southeastern University  |  Last update: Sep 21st, 2010
 
 

 

(search within this guide)
Current awareness services, also known as alerting services, are services that alert researchers when new articles are published.
These pages in the Current Awareness & Alerting Services guide contain your search term:

 

By Woodruff Library at Emory University - Main Library (Woodruff)  |  Last update: Jan 27th, 2011
 
 

 

(search within this guide)
Instructions for setting up database search alerts and RSS feeds.
These pages in the Alerts & Feeds guide contain your search term:

 By Lee Adams at Golden Gate University  |  Last update: Jul 15th, 2011

 
 

 Research Alerts - Keeping current on research

(search within this guide)
This guide is intended to help researchers set up email and RSS alerts to receive updates on research publications in their fields of interest.
These pages in the Research Alerts - Keeping current on research guide contain your search term:

 By Buddy Pennington at University of Missouri-Kansas City  |  Last update: Dec 21st, 2010

 
 

 

(search within this guide)
Alerting services provide regular electronic notifications to your inbox of newly published research, journal tables of contents and other information based on user-specified criteria.
These pages in the Alerting Services guide contain your search term:
By Jonathan Cain at New York University  |  Last update: Jul 28th, 2011
 
 

 

(search within this guide)
Research Alerts: Automated Updates to Streamline Your Research
These pages in the Xtra Topics - Research Alerts guide contain your search term:

 By Stephen Macksey at Loyola University of Chicago  |  Last update: Mar 28th, 2011

 

(search within this guide)
Email Alerts and Really Simple Syndication (RSS) Feeds
These pages in the SPARK - Alerts & RSS Feeds guide contain your search term:
By Mara Bordignon at Seneca Libraries  |  Last update: Aug 16th, 2011

 

 
 
(search within this guide)
Interested in keeping current with a minimum amount of effort? This guide gives an overview of using RSS, search alerts, and saved searches to subscribe to information for research or pleasure.
These pages in the Search Alerts and RSS guide contain your search term:
By Ask a Librarian at Johns Hopkins University  |  Last update: Jul 1st, 2011
 
 

 

(search within this guide)
How to set up regular email alerts for new articles on topics of your choice.
These pages in the Alerting Services - Articles & Company Information guide contain your search term:

 

By Patricia Berens at Babson College  |  Last update: Aug 2nd, 2010
 
These pages in the Table of Contents & Search Alerts guide contain your search term:
By Nicholas Albaugh at Bentley University Library  |  Last update: Mar 25th, 2011
  |  Tags: search_alerts

 

 

 How To Use Alerting Services

(search within this guide)
This guide highlights types of alerting services and provides links to setting up alerts
These pages in the How To Use Alerting Services guide contain your search term:

 By Veronica Bielat at Wayne State University  |  Last update: Jul 27th, 2011

 

 

(search within this guide)
keep updated on recently published research by creating alerts within popular databases.
These pages in the Creating Database Search Alerts guide contain your search term:
By Wendy Wilcox at Cornell University  |  Last update: Jan 12th, 2011
 
 

 

(search within this guide)
This guide illustrates how to set up and save your searches for a determined time period. Receive results via email or RSS.
These pages in the Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS guide contain your search term:
This page in the Writing and Finding Dissertations and Theses guide contain info about alerts:
By librarians at the University of St. Thomas (MN) |  Last update: Oct 10, 2019

Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian