Click on the Check for UNH Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.
If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Use 2 or 3 significant words or terms from your research topic
Develop synonyms and alternative terms
Try a broader concept if a specific term doesn't retrieve enough results
Try a more specific aspect or element if you get too many results with a very broad concept
Use the operator AND to retrieve records with all the keywords you list to focus and narrow your results
Use the operator OR to indicate that any of the terms should be in each of the results; this usually increases the number of relevant results
Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase
Use an asterisk * to pick up words with the same stem but different endings
As you review your search results and read articles, look for and jot down alternative words or concepts to enhance your searches.
Some specialized databases allow you to limit your search in other useful ways: educational level, age, population group, research methodology, language, etc.
Limiter options vary by database:
Make connections through ideas and concepts rather than specific words
Look at the reference list at the end of a relevant scholarly article you found. This may lead you to earlier articles related to your topic. Search the UNH Library catalog by the name of the journal to see if we have the article online or in print.
Check "Times Cited" links, if available, in databases such as PsycINFO or Biological Abstracts to identify some newer articles citing the article in the database record. This may lead to related relevant articles.
Use Web of Science to follow citations from published articles to identify older and newer related articles across many disciplinary fields in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Searching by the subjects assigned to articles helps
Look at the subject terms in records for articles that fit your topic closely and search those subjects for more articles
Use the thesaurus available in some databases to see if your keywords are subjects or if alternative terms are used
What else have the author(s) published on this topic? Search their names in the relevant database or look for their CV (curriculum vita) online.
Depending on your topic, it may help you to use specialized databases for other subjects as well as math. For more online resources, check out the UNH Library's comprehensive Database List, using the "Subject" and "Type" drop-down menus to filter. You'll get a list of online resources to select from. Below are some specific ones that are likely to be useful.
Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).
Advantages:
Disadvantages:
Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that
