HMP 403 Introduction to Public Health: Statistical Resources

Collects, stores, analyzes and disseminates NH health-related data, including birth, death, hospital, cancer and behavioral risk factor surveillance information.

A web-based data analysis system that produces reports about common community health indicators.

The nation's principal health statistics agency.

A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states on more than 500 health topics.

Previously known as the National Women's Health Indicator Database. Provides state- and county-level data. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and come from a variety of national and state sources.

Contains all surveys, studys, and data collection initiatives of the DHHS

Provides statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve health

Online database for the analysis of public health data

The Census Bureau collects data on disability primarily through the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)

Provides a wide array of data and statistics by topic

Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce

National Vital Statistics Reports (NVSR) are regular issues from the National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) that cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics

Provides weekly updates on death and death rates

Includes statistics on births, deaths, marriage, divorce, life expectancy, and more

Browse health data by state and topic

WHO provides global health data including country profiles and references to other relevant publications and data sources

A global and comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data

Data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries

Links to a variety of tools for health statistics and to detailed monitoring and assessment tools for key areas of health policy

The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official national statistics on births, deaths and life expectancy through the Demographic Yearbook data collection system

Over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing and the health workforce; immunization and the incidence of HIV and AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis, non-communicable diseases and the causes of death; nutrition, clean water and sanitation, and reproductive health; as well as population estimates and population projections

IPUMS-DHS contains thousands of consistently coded variables on the health and well-being of women, children, births, men, and on all members of randomly selected households, for 32 African countries and 9 Asian countries

Includes links to local government agencies, state legislative resources, and local public health organizations.

Includes links to data about COVID-19 and public health tracking

Local health and social services data portal that provides details at the state, county, and town level.

Includes data about social determinants of health, and access to health clinics and hospitals

CDC statistics

The American Hospital Directory® provides data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide

The American Hospital Association conducts an annual survey of hospitals in the United States

NAHC’s research department provides homecare and hospice data to its members and the public

The private research firm Merritt Hawkins & Associates conducted a large survey of major metropolitan areas and wait times for different specialties and their Medicaid/Medicare acceptance rates.

Contains a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage

Uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians

CMS research and statistics

Interactive tool contains health outcome measures for disease prevalence, costs, hospitalization for 60 specific chronic conditions, emergency department utilization, readmissions rates, mortality, preventable hospitalizations, and preventive services

Produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Includes data on topics related to the uninsured

A look at health plans’ collective improvement over time

The interactive Medicare Enrollment Dashboard provides information on the number of Medicare beneficiaries with hospital/medical coverage and prescription drug coverage

Provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties

Reports, data, and fact sheets about hospital discharges in the US