History (UNH Manchester): Nature and Environment in American History

Encyclopedias 

• The Atlas of U.S. and Canadian Environmental History

• The Columbia Guide to American Environmental History

• A Companion to American Environmental History

• A Dictionary of Environmental History

• Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

Newspapers - links to comprehensive newspaper list

Primary Sources - links to suggested primary sources

Full-Text Online Collections

• The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
• Growing a Nation: The Story of American Agriculture
• Hurricane Digital Memory Bank
• National Park Service History Electronic Library
• National Park Service LIBrary Resource Information Service (LIBRIS)
• Organic Roots Collection

Audio-Visual

• Forest History Society YouTube Channel
• The National Park Service Historic Photograph Collection

Websites About Environmental History

• American Society of Environmental History
• The Environment and Society Portal
• H-Environment

Archival Research and Collections

This is a very selected list.

• The Guide to Environmental History Archival Collections

  • The Forest History Society offers this database, which contains descriptions of over 7,000 groups of environmental history records located in more than 450 repositories across North America and around the world.

• The EPA National Library Network

  • Provides information resources and services to EPA staff and the public to support the mission of the EPA.

• The Forest History Society Research Center

  • The Forest History Society promotes the study of the history of human interaction with the environment.

• The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Conservation Library

  • The library provides a suite of collections and resources that aid in information discovery.

Library Databases

Explore the following research databases to identify articles in the field of history: