Skip to Main Content

CPS Guide to Open Education (UNH Manchester Library)

For specific guidelines on use and attribution of images and audio/visual files see the Use Guidelines page.

Listed below are some excellent sites for finding images in the public domain

  • Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) Images of art and architectural works in the public domain made available on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. Emphasis on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture.
  • Artsy Education An educational resource containing 85,000+ digital images of artworks and architecture (25,000+ downloadable) , including one of the largest collections of contemporary art. Offers tips related to downloading, exploring, and teaching with digital images.
  • British Library in Flickr Commons  Over 1,000,000 images in the public domain scanned from 17-19th century books, including maps, geological diagrams, beautiful illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, colorful illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and so much more
  • CC Search Prototype that aggregates images from publicly available repositories of open content, including Europeana, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York Public Library, Rijksmuseum, and more.
  • College Art Association A select list of sources for ‘Free Images for Academic/ Scholarly Use’
  • Digital Public Library of America  Refine your search to images from America's leading libraries, archives, and museums in this aggregate of online digital collections, containing over 650,000 images.
  • Google Art Project Collaborative open-access project between Google and over 150 art partners worldwide. "Users can explore a wide range of artworks at brushstroke level detail, take a virtual tour of a museum and even build their own collections to share."
  • Google Material Design icons Open-source package of 750 icons targeted for designers and developers for use in mobile apps and interactive projects. Preview icon set
  • Gratisography High resolution images photographed by designer, Ryan McGuire. Available for download and categorized into subjects animals, nature, objects, people, urban, whimsical.
  • Internet Archive Book Images 2.6 million images with searchable tags.
  • Life of Pix Free high resolution images donated to the public domain with new images added weekly. Categorized by subject in the gallery.
  • Pixabay Over 380,000 public domain and high resolution images in browsable categories.
  • Public Domain Review Hundreds of images with descriptions.
  • Shared Shelf Commons Powered by Artstor, this open access platform includes over 100,000 zoom-able images that can be printed, exported, and shared.
  • Unsplash One of the best sources for public domain photos and free images on the web. 10 new photos added every 10 days. 
  • Wellcome Images Over 100,000 images available for free download as hi-res images, including historical content such as manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements and 'themes around medicine and the wider history of health.'
  • Wikimedia Commons An aggregate of a number of institutions' free content.

Quick List of Resources for Academic Audio & Video

AUDIO

Dance Online: Dance in Video
Five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming video of full plays, musicals, and operas from contemporary British companies, plus educational materials about the plays and their creative and technical production.

Drama Online
Along with playscripts and ebooks, Drama Online now includes video and audio from Globe on Screen and L.A. Theatre Works.

Electronic Arts Intermix Educational Streaming
More than 500 full-length videos from EAI's extensive catalog of video, media, and performance art from the 1960s to the present.

How to Find CC Licensed Video

Medici.tv
Over 1600 videos of opera, ballet, and classical music concerts, along with documentaries and artist profiles. Search and browse by artist, composer, director, etc.

Met Opera on Demand
More than 450 recordings of Metropolitan Opera productions, in streaming HD, video, or audio, dating from the 1930s to the present.

Music and Dance Online
Searches across the following Alexander Street Press databases (some are individually linked above):

Naxos Video Library
Over 1580 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Search and browse genres, composers, labels, artists, and production personnel.

OntheBoards.tv
Streaming HD video of contemporary dance, theater, and music performances from Seattle-based company On the Boards.

Opera in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Five hundred hours of streaming video of the most important opera performances: staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Theatre Online: Theatre in Video
More than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, totaling more than 500 hours of streaming video representing hundreds of leadin
g playwrights, actors and directors.