Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.
- specific factual information such as dates
- overviews or summaries of topics
- recommendations for additional sources
Types of reference sources:
- specialized encyclopedias
- statistical compilations
For More Help
Research Center Phone: 603-862-1544
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian.
Selected Print Reference Sources
These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center.
Comprehensive access to statistical information from state and federal government agencies, IGOs, and nonprofit organizations.
American FactFinder 2
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.
New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in the State of New Hampshire. Data presented here comes from a variety of sources, including community response, published reports, and maps.
KIDS COUNT Data Center
Access hundreds of measures of child well-being - by state or across states. Create maps, line graphs, and rankings.
Site provides information on national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time; data provided by collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
Foundation Directory Online
Information on grantmakers and their grants including a database of over 96,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3,600 sponsoring companies; a database of over 1.4 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 533,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.