Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Music Online
Search Oxford Music Online for basic facts and background information on the history of music. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Music whose entries include complete works lists for composers, and definitive bibliographies. While the emphasis is on Western classical music, American music and jazz are also very well covered.
Streaming Audio and Video Databases
Naxos Music Library
Streaming online access to more than 36,191 CDs (516,679 tracks) of primarily classical music, as well as some jazz and world/folk music from a variety of labels.
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
DRAM includes 7500 compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States.
Music Online: Listening
Streaming audio collections including: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Kanopy Streaming Service
Access an ever-growing library of videos across diverse content areas, including many films focusing on music.
Indexes a wide range of music periodicals for topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A bibliography of music literature that includes records in over 100 languages from 3,700 journals. Publication date coverage: 1969 to present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos from almost every discipline.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Google's academic search. Will find academic sources, with limited full text.
Arts & Humanities Librarian