Women's & Gender Studies (UNH Durham)

Documenting key feminists who ignited the second wave women's movement, this work tells the stories of more than two thousand individual women and a few notable men who together reignited the women's movement and made permanent changes to entrenched customs and laws.

This book highlights the lives and work of fifty second wave feminists, women who have served as catalysts in the developing feminist movement. A diverse group--playwrights and politicians, grassroots organizers and scientists, poets and theologians--they provide the reader with compelling stories of individual women's lives, collective feminist struggles, and the possibilities of feminist social change.

This volume, the second of two companion biographical dictionaries, provides extensive entries on 31 women orators active since 1925. Each entry provides brief biographical information, focuses on an analysis of the subject's rhetoric, and concludes with information on sources.

This encyclopedia features women from all walks of life, including: royalty, lawyers, politicians, soldiers, heroines, pacifists, resistance fighters, financiers, philanthropists, and authors. Coverage includes many women for whom profiles are not included in traditional sources.

In three magnificent volumes, Black Women in America, second edition celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and covers the new research the first edition helped to generate.

Entries on almost five hundred women representing a wide range of fields of endeavor are featured in a collection of biographical essays that integrate each woman's personal life with her professional achievements, set in the context of historical developments.

These inspiring profiles investigate a wide range of notable women from throughout history and from around the globe. Included are the familiar and famous names such as Amelia Earhart, Jane Goodall, and Margaret Mead. Lesser known but equally inspiring women for whom it is more difficult to find information are also included, from early explorers to recent role models. An appendix offers short vignettes about women on whom little information is available, but whose accomplishments are significant particularly when they may have played a part in the contributions of other women cited here.

This encyclopedia chronicles the accomplishments of women in American business since the colonial era and discusses the historical events and issues that have concerned them. The encyclopedia additionally summarizes important legislation and organizations and covers such industries as accounting, advertising, banking, and manufacturing.

This resource presents biographies of American women in the performing arts from the 19th century onwards. There are 150 entries profiling film, stage and TV actresses; dancers; musicians; opera stars; and performance artists. Each entry emphasizes the woman's contributions as an artist.

More than 250 A-Z entries focusing primarily on women pioneers and mentors in medicine, from Rebecca Lee Crumpler, the first black female physician in the United States, to Flossie Wong-Staal, who codiscovered and cloned the HIV virus. Additional entries on organizations such as the Medical Women's International Association, the Media Act of 1858 and other legislative acts, and universities and institutions that have shaped the role of women in medicine.

This compendium provides more than 200 critical profiles of women playwrights over the past 1000 years. Each entry offers a concise biography, synopses of the writer's work, professional achievements, critical commentary and a bibliography of works both by and about the writer. A supplemental index covers an additional 150 female playwrights.

Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries, featuring thematic entries as well as biographies of female writers whose works were originally published in Spanish or Portuguese, and who have had an impact on literary, political, and social studies.