Research Guides: INTR 438 -A Socio-cultural Perspective on the Deaf Community (UNH Manchester): 02 Databases to Search

Ulrichsweb

Use this database to search for the following about any periodical:

Product description
Scholarly or non-scholarly, trade, magazine, etc.
What databases to search
Publisher information
Reviews of the periodical

Ulrichsweb
Bibliographic and access information for thosands of serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

History Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Dates of coverage: 1955-current
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Dates of coverage: 1450-current
JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Project MUSE
Promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.

Literature Databases

JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Literature Criticism Online
A range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Online version of Gale’s Literature Criticism series, including: Contemporary Literary Criticism; Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; and Shakespearean Criticism.
Project MUSE
Promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.
MLA International Bibliography
Contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.

Deaf Studies Databases

The following online databases are particularly useful to students writing papers for Deaf Studies and Interpreting. Search these indexes for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on your topic.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
"CMMC offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, including full text for nearly 200 journals in areas related to communication and mass media."
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Indexes scholarly journals and series, in literature, language. Useful for articles about films based on literary sources, eg adaptations, or Shakespeare on film etc.
Project Muse
Full text access to scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Sociological Abstracts
"Indexes research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences."

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of coverage: 1973-current

Communication Arts Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
"CMMC offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, including full text for nearly 200 journals in areas related to communication and mass media."
JSTOR
Full text access to scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Indexes scholarly journals and series, in literature, language. Useful for articles about films based on literary sources, eg adaptations, or Shakespeare on film etc.
Project Muse
Full text access to scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Film-related titles include Camera Obscura, Cinema Journal, Discourse, and Wide Angle.
List of All Databases by Subject and A-Z

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text access to legal, business, and medical information, as well as to newspaper articles from around the world.

Wall Street Journal (Current)
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal newspaper which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news."

Law/Public Policy Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study.
Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text access to legal, business, and medical information, as well as to newspaper articles from around the world.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed.

Westlaw Campus Research
An online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.

Online Deaf Studies Journals

American Annals of the Deaf
Deaf Studies Digital Journal
This is an ASL-language journal. Many of the articles are also available in an English text download.
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Sign Language Studies

Sports Databases

SPORTDiscus
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation.

Education Databases

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost)
"ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement."

List of All Databases by Subject and A-Z

Arts Databases

Art Index
Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world.
Art Index Retrospective
Index covering more than 55 years of art journalism from over 420 notable publications. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins as well as publications in French, Italian, German, and Dutch.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Especially useful is the Cited Reference Search, which finds newer articles citing to older, known items. For literary topics, limit search to the Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an innovative gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources in one location.

Project MUSE
Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

INTR 438 -A Socio-cultural Perspective on the Deaf Community (UNH Manchester): 02 Databases to Search

eBooks