Research Guides: ECN 410-Novelists and Economists (UNH Manchester): Websites

Evaluating websites

Evaluate any website you use in your paper very carefully. Use the following criteria to determine if a website is appropriate for your research:

Hartness Library (2012, June 22). Credible websites? [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFEwwG7rq0E.

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Full-text historical documents from the 15th century to the present.
American Colonist's Library
An online collection of primary source materials from the American colonial period.
Archiving Early America
Primary source materials from the 18th Century.
Census of Population and Housing
A U.S. Census Bureau collection containing decennial censuses 1790 - 1860 and 1990 and 2000.
Charters of Freedom
The Declaration of Independence, Constitution of the United States, and Bill of Rights from the National Archives and Records Administration.
Chronology of US Historical Documents
Primary sources from Pre-Colonial to the present day.
American Memory Map Collections
This collection focuses on "Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress" from 1544 - 1999 and is fully searchable by title, creator, subject, and keyword. Includes a geographic location index.
Making of America (MOA)
"The Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."

Remember to evaluate any website you use in your paper very carefully. The following resources can help you think critically about websites.