Find Articles - KIN 621 - Exercise Laboratory Techniques (UNH Durham)

What are peer-reviewed journals?

Journals containing academic articles, often reporting results of research studies.

Each journal is normally on one subject such as: history, literature, sociology, etc.

These journals are also known as Referred journals.

Authors are usually professors, scholars or similar experts.

The author/s manuscript is scrutinized (peer-reviewed) before publication, by others who are experts in the same field.

Examples of peer-reviewed journals in exercise science include:

An informative 3 minute video created by Peabody Library, Vanderbilt University.

ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines.

MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and pre-clinical sciences. Contains full-text articles from nearly 90 leading medical journals. Includes the entire MEDLINE collection, which provides abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR. Updated monthly.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Dates of coverage: 1890-1982
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

SPORT Discus
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes over 1,200 international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC).
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete
Covers over 1,700 professional journals in nursing and allied health disciplines. Offers access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software in nursing, audiovisuals, book chapters, and other publications. Updated weekly.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer information on manyh health topics including sports medicine. Coverage includes nearly 550 scholarly full-test journals with abstracts and indexes for nearly 850 additional titles.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based knowledge system with content written and edited by a global community of physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Includes clinical topics across many specialties, including graded treatment recommendations. Authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. Also includes medical calculators and a drug and drug interaction database.

Research Ethics
"aimed at all readers and authors interested in ethical issues in the conduct of research, the regulation of research, the procedures and process of ethical review as well as broader ethical issues related to research such as scientific integrity and the end uses of research. The journal aims to promote, provoke, host and engage in open and public debate about research ethics on an international scale but also to contribute to the education of researchers and reviewers of research".