Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Periodical Databases
Film & Television Literature Index
A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
Film Index International
An information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Film Literature Index 1976-2001
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to sources on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life with Full Text), from over 2,500 journals in over 40 languages.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
The primary database for literature, MLA contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from more than 4,400 journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Communication Arts Journals
Most of your research papers in communication arts should use peer-reviewed (academic/scholarly) or trade journals as sources. Below are some common peer-reviewed and trade titles with links to their online versions.
Check for Full Text
Check for Full Text – When searching for articles in databases, you will often see this button in the list of results. The "Check for Full Text" button will initiate a search in all of the UNH databases to see if the article is available in full text in another database. Taking this extra step saves you time in obtaining copies of articles.
Request an Article from Another Library
It is possible to request items (books, journal articles, videos, etc.) from other libraries—across town, across the state and even across the country—by using a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL).