Reference & News Articles - CA 450 - Introduction to Public Speaking (UNH Manchester)

Online Reference Sources

Biography in Context
Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually. Content includes reference material, magazines, audio and video content, images, and links to screened, reliable websites. Can browse or search by name, occupation, nationality, etc. or by multiple criteria in Advanced Search.
CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth coverage of current events.
CREDO Reference
An online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online
"Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year."
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Pro and con arguments on major topical issues.

CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 1965-2018 This link opens in a new window
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise.
Note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.

Academic Search Ultimate
A "scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions."

Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text access to legal, business, and medical information, as well as to newspaper articles from around the world.

GreenFILE
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more. Dates of coverage: 1937-current
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 1965-2018 This link opens in a new window
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise.
Note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.

PsycArticles
Database of full-text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Dates of Coverage: 1988 - present.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences
List of All Databases by Subject and A-Z