Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For More Help
Chat, email, or schedule a consultation with a subject librarian!
Ask A Librarian
Choosing Your Topic
Offers balanced, in-depth analyses of contemporary topics by veteran journalists, pro and con arguments by experts, chronologies, and annotated bibliographies to guide additional research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Viewpoint articles along with statistics, websites, reference and magazine/newspaper articles to get the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Not a good source for academic articles. Note: Some instructors have guidelines about using this database, so check with with your instructor.
Gathering Background Information
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Why Use Reference Sources?
Reference sources are good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.
- specific factual information such as dates
- overviews or summaries of topics
- recommendations for additional sources
- research vocabulary
Types of reference sources
- specialized encyclopedias
- statistical compilations